Yoga Teacher Training and Certification

Welcome to Yoga Teacher Training. If you have dreamed of being a Yoga instructor but aren’t sure where to start, look no further. We want to assist you as you begin your new career. Below you will find a comprehensive list of yoga training and certification programs offered throughout the nation, as well as other helpful information that will guide you on your journey to becoming a certified Yoga instructor.


Yoga Types

Posted May 19th, 2011 in Types Of Yoga and tagged , by admin

Yoga can be practiced in many different forms and styles. Benefiting those who want to achieve their fitness goals, increase flexibility or help with self-awareness and inner peace, yoga lends itself to various styles of practice. While each style has the same basic poses, they each focus on one particular area. Deciding which form works best for you and, ideally which class(es) you would like to teach, depends on which style of the yoga practice you can relate to most.

We have broken down the most popular styles below for you:

Hatha: Slow paced and good for beginners, Hatha is the most general and the gentlest of the styles. Focusing on learning the postures (or Asanas), meditation and developing a good yoga breathing pattern (in the nose, out the nose), Hatha is the foundation of all other yoga styles.

Vinyasa: Meaning breath-synchronized movement, Vinyasa is a bit more vigorous and requires the body to focus on deep stretches. This style is based on a series of poses called Sun Salutations, in which your movements are matched to the breath.

Bikram: Also known as “hot yoga,” this style has become increasing popular over the years for those looking to lose weight while doing yoga. Focusing on muscular strength, muscular endurance, weight loss and cardiovascular health, Bikram yoga is a series of 26 poses and takes place in 95 to 100 degree room. The heat is said to loosen the muscles and cleanse the body through getting rid of sweat.

Ashtanga: Otherwise known as Power Yoga, Ashtanga (which means “eight limbs” in Sanskrit) combines stretching, breathing and strength training but puts muscle behind it. Unlike other forms of yoga, Ashtanga is a bit more physically demanding, as it requires you to flow through six series of movements, that become increasingly harder, without pausing and incorporates side bends, push-ups and other forms of calisthenics.
Restorative: This style of yoga is about connecting to the muscles and allowing them to relax. The use of blocks, bolsters and blankets, which allow you to open up and hold the poses longer, is common in this style.

Kundalini: This style focuses all of its energy on the base of the spine, or the “Root Chakra.” Using rapid movements, many seated positions and a focus on the core, Kundalini allows incorporates mediation and chanting exercises.

Prenatal Yoga: Both expectant mothers and those that have recently had children can benefit from Prenatal Yoga. This slow-paced workout focuses on breathing, core strength and hip opening poses.

Leave a Reply